المساعد الشخصي الرقمي

مشاهدة النسخة كاملة : 8 Common Errors of English Teachers

M.o_o.N
18-11-2009, 02:50 PM
http://eflfrog.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/10/teachingmistakes.gif

Most English as a Foreign Language (EFL) teachers start teaching with very little training and end up just making it up as they go. I know, I was there before. I made all the common mistakes and I didn’t even know I was teaching ineffective classes until I started studying more about teaching and had a chance to visit classes of more experienced teachers. Not only novices make these mistakes, many long term teachers haven’t really had the opportunity to observe quality English classes and have less than optimal lessons. Here are some activities and practices that I believe to be ineffective.

1. Focus on the Activity Rather than Student NeedsIt is easy to get caught up in a popular game, song or craft activity without ever really considering if it is in students best interests or not.

The goal of English classes is to help your students learn English, not pass the time as quickly as possible. Make sure you are focusing on games, activities and stories that are giving your students the English exposure they need. In once a week English classes, extended crafts, inappropriate songs and pointless activities should be avoided. There are many great chants, games and books that are appropriate for the ability of your students. Spend the time to find or develop activities that will facilitate your students’ learning.

2. Communicating at Inappropriate LevelsNovices teachers often come into English classes and talk just like they would to a native English speaker.